I said this would be a blog about the matters I wanted to search out in my own life and today I would like to take a break from Hebrews and just share something that has been on my mind lately.

I have been increasingly aware recently that this world is not my home.  I don’t like it here, I don’t fit in and I don’t belong.  Even among Christian people I don’t feel I fit. The closer I get the God the more peculiar I feel.  This doesn’t sound very encouraging, yet I am encouraged because this is how God said it would be.

And the LORD hath avouched thee this day to be his peculiar people, as he hath promised thee, and that [thou] shouldest keep all his commandments; Deuteronomy 26:18 (KJV)

It says we are called to keep his commandments and be His PECULIAR people.  God has said already that those who follow Him will be odd to the world around them.  That would explain why the closer I get to Him the more out of place I feel.  However I think I prefer the NASV translation of that verse.

The LORD has today declared you to be His people, a treasured possession, as He promised you, and that you should keep all His commandments; Deuteronomy 26:18(NASV)

Now that word peculiar is missing.  Now I am a TREASURED POSSESSION.  I think I prefer that better. Somehow that doesn’t make me feel better about being here on earth.  While I know I am loved here be many people.  My husband, my parents, my children and my friends.  That love is imperfect and conditional. God’s love is unconditional.

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. 7 Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. 8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us Romans 5:8 (NIV)

Before I was clean and perfect Christ died for me.  He took me as I was.  How many people can truly do that?  Some? A few?  Ok, but what happens when we screw up?  Do those same people want to keep us around?  Maybe if we apologize, or make it right. Some people want us to suffer.  I can’t judge them for that; to be honest that forgiveness thing doesn’t come easy for me either.  God, however, is perfect and forgives immediately.  Not only does he forgive, but he forgets.  How many people can do that?

as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us. Psalms 103:12(NIV)

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9(NIV)

I have been feeling more and more dissatisfied with the condition on the world.  I think reason is because I was not created for this world. There is a place for me in heaven, and I can’t wait to get there.  I want to just scoop up all my loved ones and go home.  I want to be with the one who considers me a treasure.  The one who dearly loves me.

 1 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. 2 My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4 You know the way to the place where I am going.”

John 14:1-3(NIV)

I know how to get there, but in case you don’t, He tells you in verse 6.

Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?”

 6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. 7 If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.” John 14:4-6

Jesus the way, or if that isn’t simple enough Acts 16:31

He then brought them out and asked, “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?”  31 They replied, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved Acts 16:30-31(NIV)

Well, that’s pretty clear; simplistic, but clear.  Following Christ really is simple.  Believe and obey.  The problem is that we are human an tempted.  We try and things ourselves rather than trusting God.  We don’t always want to do what God says, even though it is the best thing for us.  I know I am tired of the fight.  I long for heaven.  Ann Frank said “I know I am eternal for I have eternal longings”.  I concur.

I think most of all right now what I am feeling is that I miss Jesus.  I can’t wait to be with him forever.  Don’t worry I’m not suicidal or anything.  I just am longing for my real home.